Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a seven member commission appointed to four-year terms by the Mayor and City Council.  The Commission meets at 7 p.m. on the third Wednesday of each month.  The Planning Commission prepares and recommends to the City Council a Comprehensive Plan for the present and future development of the City and land within one and one-half miles beyond the corporate limits, and reviews and makes recommendations on the following land use, zoning and development applications: 

The Planning Commission’s process for public hearings to review zoning map amendments, zoning ordinance text amendments, conditional use permits and planned developments is detailed in Chapter 34, Article XV. Amendments.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Kari Speir Assistant City Manager (618) 566-2964 ext. 122

Board Members

Name Title
Ken Zacharski Chairman
Bruce Jung
Rich Thompson
Jack Klopmeyer
Glenn Shelley
Jim Connor
Karen Wobbe